Removing Oxidation from the engine mainfold

New to the site? Say hello here!
nismoracer

Removing Oxidation from the engine mainfold

Post by nismoracer » Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:36 pm

Hi everyone - im a newbie - just traded my 1991 Nissan Skyline GTS for a 2003 Nissan 350z on Tuesday - im wondering if anyone has any ideas how to remove the oxidation from the engine manifold & also how to remove the Number Plate Tag?

us2
Z Club Member
Location: Weymouth by the sea.Auckland.Don't dream it ,be there

Post by us2 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:23 pm

Welcome to the forum and to Zeds. Yeah oxidation on aluminium is a pain. Autosol and elbow grease is the only thing I know.
It seems to occur worse when degreaser has been used and hosed off. Others may know some product that works
withought the effort.
!972 240z
Retirement is great. Growing old sucks.

BRONZEE
Z Club Member

Post by BRONZEE » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:44 pm

nismoracer wrote:Hi everyone - im a newbie - just traded my 1991 Nissan Skyline GTS for a 2003 Nissan 350z on Tuesday - im wondering if anyone has any ideas how to remove the oxidation from the engine manifold & also how to remove the Number Plate Tag?
Hi, welcome to the forum. Did you buy a NZ new or an import? Post up a pic for us.

Most number plate tags will just screw off (if you're talking about the front), unless there is a bolt on the back, then I'm afraid bumper off, but it doesn't take long. Bunch of 10mm bolts underneath the bumper, and wheel arch clips, then black tabs under the bonnet at the front. Useful guide here, plus stacks more guides to most things you'd need to do.

http://350z-uk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=19516

There's an event on this Sunday, a rally/trial, all you need is a co-pilot, tank of gas, and a few other bits as per the thread:

http://www.zclub.org.nz/viewtopic.php?t=1787&test=test
Next - Z Club events:
= Check out events page here or our Z Club NZ Facebook page.

nismoracer

Post by nismoracer » Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:05 pm