What racing class for my 240Z

Answer to most of the common technical questions
Tony Edmeades

What racing class for my 240Z

Post by Tony Edmeades » Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:59 pm

Hi all,
I'm new to the forum, and once my car is sorted I'll be new to the club !!.

My question for you is this. I've been fetling away on my 240 for a few years with the aim of building a road car that I can race from time to time. I'm having trouble find any referance to a class of racing that my car will fit into other than maybe Super GT's (and those boys look a bit serious to be honest). The car is significantly modified with a turbo, 4 wheel disc's, injection etc.
Before I go stuffing a roll cage into the ol girl I think I'd better make sure that there IS actually a class I will be welcome to race in.
I've looked in the MSNZ site, but had some trouble so asked a site contact...he said "go ask someone at a track !!!"
Any help greatly appreciated

Tony

nustad
Z Club Member

Post by nustad » Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:49 am

Tony,

I am looking forward to seeing the car in the flesh.

I think car club events are probably going to be the best place to start - like Z club track day at Taupo and perhaps you could look at what Auckland Sports Car Club has on offer.

I don't think your car would be eligible for the leisuretime series with the hair dryer on it.

Pictures please!

Cheers

Glenn
72 240z plus bits

Tony Edmeades

Post by Tony Edmeades » Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:40 am

Cheers for that, Do the track days have any requirement for a cage ?.
As far as pics go, currently she's stripped down waiting for the panel beater to take his lash at my wallet so not much to see at the moment. As soon as I can I'll get some up. The engine bay maybe later this week.
WRT events/classes, I'm keen on the domain hillclimb and such like as well so if any one knows about the regs for that event sing out.
Many Churs

Tony
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

nzeder