My first Z (1975 260Z 2+2+V8)

Restores, Revamps and Repairs
Dapat88

My first Z (1975 260Z 2+2+V8)

Post by Dapat88 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:59 pm

Hi all,
Name is Dave, I'm Scottish but currently live in Christchurch... found this forum while searching for Z cars.

Im new to the whole S30 game but have admired the cars for a long time so when one came up for sale near me I decided to have a look and made a bid, sadly it went for more than I was willing to pay for it but through some miracle it came back up for sale a few weeks later (sale fell through) so once again I bid and this time won the auction. Some of you may recognise it from trademe a few weeks back.

This is the lucky lady herself...

Needs a bit of TLC... and when I say a bit I mean a lot. Anyway something to keep me busy and spend all my money on eh?

Started stripping it down and poking around and found a number of fairly rusted areas...

with plenty more rust underneath meaning I will have to replace the floors and rails. Fun. Any advice on people or places who would do this in Christchurch for a reasonable price would be greatly appreciated...

So far I have accumulated a few new bits and pieces:

Top of the list is the new engine (maybe not if it is too difficult to cert): a 4L V8, the 1UZ with a W58 gearbox from a supra behind it.
All new polyurethane bushings
Two pot front brake callipers
Rear Spoiler
Front spoiler/splitter
New wing mirrors (not decided where to mount these yet, door or wing?)
All new rubber seals for pretty much everything (doors, windows, bonnet etc..)
New larger radiator (might look at a single or twin fan set up as well, thoughts?)
15/16 Brake booster.

I'm sure this list will grow longer and longer with time...

So I will hopefully keep updating this as often as I can or whenever I accomplish something or need help!

marrow

Post by marrow » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm

Nice. I was going to say I saw someone selling a 1UZ-FE with Link, but you're sorted.