Which gearbox/diff

General natter about Datsun/Nissans
MBlades

Which gearbox/diff

Post by MBlades » Mon Apr 22, 2019 9:55 pm

Hi guys

Got a 1973 240z auto, planing a gearbox change, after some advice. I’m thinking a 5 speed box from 280zx as I hear straight bolt in replacement ? Would I be wise to change diff too ?

Again is this straight bolt in from the 280zx ?

What else will I need as I’m going to need to get all parts b4 starting, total novice at this so all advice appreciated. Or any other suggestions
Cheers
Mark

bernjean
Z Club Member

Post by bernjean » Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:15 am

If you want something really good an easy change is to use an SR20DET box out of an S13 Silvia. If you go to the technical forum there is a post on what is required to make the change. You will need an original Z bell housing and the Silvia box will bolt up to that. These boxes have been used for Track work. I did this conversion to my car and has been one of the better changes I have made. Gives the car a lot more modern feel. In regards to diff, it depends on what you currently have fitted. Auto should have a 3.5. Google will tell you what came out new with your car, Others can kick in here but you could go to 3.9. The lower you go the quicker your car will be of the line but will rev more at higher speeds. Remember if you change your diff ration you will also have to change your speedo gear cog.
All the best with the change. keep us posted on what you do.
Bernie Kant
Club President

MBlades

Post by MBlades » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:05 pm

Superb Bernie, great info,I knew this was the place to ask
Thanks for your input
Regards
Mark

stevenewenham
Z Club Member

Post by stevenewenham » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:58 pm

If memory serves,that same C gearbox referred to by Bernie was also fitted to RB20det Skylines, but for that
application was some 50mms longer .This means stock driveshaft will work,whereas S13 version requires
a longer driveshaft to be made.